top of page

Blog Post #3 BBG 5

In chapter five of the book, exploring topics and creating a research proposal, they explore the many ways a writer can explore a topic or idea through implementing the many strategies they highlight. Such strategies include brainstorming ideas which I know seems like one of those strategies everyone mentions and no one does but the book even highlights this by saying not to just sit around and mindlessly think on hours coming to no solution. instead be a little more disciplined about your approach do a little background research on your topic to formulate ideas.

For me the way I approach writing anything is do usually follow a five paragraph structure trying to initially formulate three strong main points but I don't always follow the structure and I try to have a strong idea to work out through the text. On high school very English class sounds like a broken cd player thesis statement, thesis statement, thesis statement. And while those are important I never really felt that following that structure ever really helped I was forced to have all my ideas perfect within one sentence.

After reading the text I'm not likely going to change very much in how I write but I may try the new approaches they suggested like preliminary research and free writing. Today in class we did a little free and while it was messy and disorganized it did help with me stumbling on ideas that I wouldn't have thought of because of all the ideas I kept throwing at the screen. It did allow me to explore some ideas I wouldn't have and I may start doing this strategy more if I ever hit a brick wall.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page