top of page

Project 2 Research Proposal

Research Proposal

One specific community I have been particularly interested in is the vegetarian community because for so many years now I have flirted with the idea of being a vegetarian even going as far as eating meat substitutes like tofu, eggplant, other fruits and veggies. There are many reasons to join this community either for health concerns, animal awareness concerns, and weight loss. For me some of my closes friends are vegetarians while some of my other friends are through and through carnivores. It’s never really been an option brought forth by my parents due to growing up in a Hispanic household the meals always consisted of some type of rice, meat, and beans. I never thought twice about it but the biggest reason for my change would have to be the inhumane and brutal treatment of the animals we consume. Now I’m no PETA freak but there is a sad truth that the majority of the meat we consume is done so by factory lines and slaughterhouses. I’ve never really been a big meat eater with the main source of my protein coming from chicken and never red meat. Now I partake in my ground meat and ham from time to time but the idea that animals were put on this earth for the sole reason of consumption as said so in the bible seems immoral in my line of thinking. What drew me to this community was funny enough film; movies highlighting the torture and pain these animals endure. Certain visual texts can be as important as or more so than written articles like David Foster Wallace’s “Consider the Lobster.” Take for instance a new film on Netflix called Okja; this film shows some really horrific imagery of animals in a slaughtering line and our desensitized view on the manner. Animals are living breathing creatures and while yes they may not share the same level of consciousness as we do they still feel pain. I plan on interviewing some student and friends who have been vegetarians for a while and why they chose to lead this lifestyle and why I might want to join there community.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page